Diagnosaurus (DDxl) Differential Diagnosis Tool: Provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases. By using the various indexes, you can choose to view entries by organ system, or select to view the list of symptoms only, the list of diseases only, or all of the entries.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination and OSCE Clinical Skills Videos: Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
NetAnatomy Contains images and information in three areas: Radiographic Anatomy, Cross Sectional Anatomy, and Gross Anatomy.
DailyMed: DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
Drug Information Portal: Links to sites from the National Library of Medicine and other key US government agencies for 80,000+ selected drugs. You can link to completed or ongoing clinical trials, general use and side effects information, and more.
Embase's Drug Search Tool: Embase’s Drug Search tool features unique filters specific to drugs and their effects. This tool uses a guided format to support drug information questions and clinical searching at the point of care by providing single-click advanced filters specific to drug behavior and route of administration.
The Medical Letter: provides evidence-based, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs with conclusions reached by a consensus of experts; new information on previously approved drugs and Comparative reviews of drugs for a given indication with particular attention to clinical efficacy, adverse effects, drug interactions, and cost.
Medscape: contains comprehensive information on drugs and herbals, drug interactions, diseases and conditions, medical procedures, and anatomy, as well as practice guidelines and a physician finder tool. It also offers dozens of calculators pertaining to tests, diagnostic criteria and more, arranged by medical specialty.
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations: Search the Orange Book Database: Search approved drug products by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant, application number, dosage form, route of administration or patent number.
The Merck Index Online for Healthcare Professors: A convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index* Online will be updated regularly with accurate information
Evidence-Based Medicine Toolbox Integrates research evidence with clinical expertise, providing a variety of EBM tools like calculators, self-evaluations, and Critical Appraisal Worksheets.
EBMR on Ovid combines 8 of the most trusted EBM Reviews resources into a single, fully-searchable database, which is fully integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. Other EBMR Collections: ACP Journal Club , Cochrane database, ACP Journal Club, and DARE, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Embase's Pico Search Tool Translating your PICO statement into a database-ready search strategy is easier than ever with the new Embase PICO search tool.
PubMed Clinical Queries: The middle column of results on the Clinical Queries page is automatically limited to Systematic Reviews.
UptoDate Anywhere (CSOM + Residents Access) a trusted resource that is proven to improve outcomes for healthcare organizations. Access to this powerful evidence-based content is now available to clinicians at the office, at home, or at patients' bedside.
Virtual Case-Based Courses Subscribed Courses and Free Interdisciplinary Courses
Aquifer Family Medicine has been made in collaboration with the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM). The 40 interactive virtual patient cases in AquiferSM Family Medicine deliver on the learning objectives of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine’s (STFM) clerkship curriculum, powered by AqueductSM, Aquifer’s learning management system.
Aquifer Geriatrics was created for educators as the American Geriatrics Society. The 26 virtual patient cases in Aquifer Geriatrics provide the AGS National Online Curriculum for medical and health professions students. A wealth of source material—including embedded assessment questions and full references—in each case
Aquifer Internal Medicine is an excellent learning tool for many healthcare professionals. The 36 interactive virtual patient cases in Aquifer Internal Medicine deliver on the learning objectives of Clerkship Directors in Internal Medicine’s (CDIM) General Internal Medicine Core Medicine clerkship curriculum. Aquifer offers an online, validated key features exam created by experienced internal medicine leaders under the guidance of Dr. Georges Bordage. This exam is based directly on the Clerkship Directors in Internal Medicine (CDIM) national curriculum.
Aquifer Pediatrics is created for educators to cover the full range of the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP) clerkship curriculum. The 32 interactive virtual patient cases in Aquifer Pediatrics deliver on the learning objectives of the COMSEP clerkship curriculum. Validated 100-question online summative exam, available.
WISE-MD (Surgery) has been developed through a joint effort of New York University Medical Center, the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the Association of Surgical Education (ASE). Distributed by Aquifer on behalf of NYU School of Medicine. Available through an independent learning platform from your Aquifer account. It provides a collection of 37 multimedia modules designed to enhance the teaching of common surgical problems and practices to medical students. Models physician-patient interaction during history taking, physical exam, decision making and postoperative care; demonstrates the procedures and techniques of a patient physical exam; reviews the appropriate use and interpretation of targeted laboratory and imaging studies; demonstrates various surgical interventions while outlining specific steps and considerations; reviews the risk factors and management considerations related to post-operative care, etc. Over 200 vignette-based questions embedded within the Case Modules
Free Interdisciplinary Courses:
Aquifer Diagnostic Excellence has been developed in collaboration with the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine six virtual patient cases in introduce students to the cognitive processes and system-related issues that can lead to errors. Use subscriber access to login
Aquifer High Value Care has been developed in collaboration American College of Physicians & Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine how to teach students teaches students how their decisions about diagnostic testing, care management and other interventions affect the costs and efficacy of care. The 12 cross-disciplinary virtual patient cases in the High Value Care course explore the fundamentals of providing value in health care, adopted from the American College of Physicians (ACP) and the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine’s (AAIM) High Value Care Resident curriculum. Use subscriber access to login.
Aquifer Medical Home has been developed in collaboration with the American Academy of Family Physicians to teach complex topics that are critical to the effective delivery of care within the medical home model. It encompasses in-depth teaching on interpersonal skills and communication, systems-based practice, professionalism, and the management of chronic illness. A combination of cases, readings, and tools help students become familiar with these key concepts and translate their acquired skills to clinical practice. It provides a wealth of source material, embedded assessment questions, and full references in each case. Use subscriber access to login.
Aquifer Culture in Health Care developed in collaboration with the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics, American Academy of Medical Colleges, Academic Academy of Pediatrics, and Health Resources and Services Administration. This course is designed to teach fundamental cross-cultural skills that can be used in the provision of health care services. The goal is to provide culturally appropriate care that maximizes common ground between the differing perspectives of the patient and the provider. It includes a combination of cases, readings, and tools that help students translate skills to clinical practice Use subscriber access to login.
Aquifer Oral Presentation Skills contains materials and exercises designed to develop excellent oral presentation skills, a critical communication tool for all health care providers. It includes several modules that provide a clear course to building key oral communication skills. Use subscriber access to login.
Students For uWISE Access: CSOM has an active school subscription. Please contact your clerkship administrator to receive your unique uWISE URL. You will need to launch the link you get from them every time you access uWISE.
Find It!@CUNY is a research tool that simplifies your efforts to find full text for journal articles you have selected in PubMed for which CCNY and CSOM Libraries have subscriptions. Find It! works only if you search PubMed via the CCNY server.