Skip to main content

CUNY School of Medicine Medical library: Account Creation Guides

Many databases have additional steps to access them via a mobile device. Below you will find instructions for gaining mobile access to some of the of the top medical resources. 

Account Creation Guides

How to install Access Medicine 

  1. Go to AccessMedicine via your off campus proxy
  2. On the AccessMedicine home page, click on the "Sign In/City College of New York" link in the upper right hand corner of the screen.
  3. Select "Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile"
  4. Select "Create a Free MyAccess Profile"
  5. Complete the registration form and then click on "Create Profile."
  6. On your mobile device, download the AccessMedicine App and log in with your MyAccess username and password. You must have an Internet connection to do this.

Content:

The AccessMedicine App is a subset of the AccessMedicine database and includes: Quick Medical Dx & Rx (quick clinical reference); Fitzpatrick’s Clinical Dermatology Atlas (color images plus an outline of skin disorders and diseases); Diagnosaurus® (a differential diagnosis tool); and Guide to Diagnostics Tests (quick reference of commonly used tests).

How to install ClinicalKey

Please note: You will need a ClinicalKey remote access valid account with a username and password. You have only one type of an account: a remote account. 

Please follow the steps below:

  1. Open the App Store on your mobile device.
  2. Search for 'ClinicalKey' (for the ClinicalKey NOT the “ClinicalKey for Nursing” app) or  “Clinical Pharmacology” app).
  3. Click to download/install ClinicalKey app (this is a free of charge app) for your android or IOS device (NOT the “ClinicalKey for Nursing” app) or Clinical Pharmacology app).
  4. Select the Global app
  5. Enter your username and password used for remote access for ClinicalKey (Remember you only have one account now -- City College -- CUNY, Remote Access - ClinicalKey for both mobile device access and computer standalone access.

After completing these steps, you will be able to start using the mobile app. The index is designated by the 3 parallel lines If you click on it you will be able to browse: Books, Journals, Drug Monographs, Etc.

How to install EBSCOhost 

  1. Log In into the database of choice. (Medline, CINAHL, PsycArticles, PsycInfo, and the EBSCOhost Databse)  
  2. Click the iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page of that particular database and enter your email address. Make sure the same email address is used by your device, since an email with an authentication key is sent to you.
  3. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app.
    Note: After nine months you must perform the authorization process again.

How to create your MyAccess Profile

In order to take advantage of some of the features of the platform, like using the mobile app, taking quizzes or using the flashcards, you need to create a My Access account. This account will work across the AccessMedicine, Access Neurology, AccessPediatrics, and AccessSurgery databases.

1.      Access the database from library

2.      Clicking on the CITY COLLEGE OF NEW YORK banner in the upper right hand corner of the screen.

3.      Click on "Sign in or Create MyAccess Profile?" to create an account.

4.      A window will open and you will click on the option “Create a Free MyAccess Profile”

5.      Another window will open and you will need to fill in all the required fields, pick a username and password.

6.      Once you have created your username and password you are ready to sign in your MyAccess Profile and use the resource.  

How to install TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)

  1. Go to TRIP
  2. On the TRIP database home page, click on the "Sign Up" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
  3. Select "Sign up" to create your free profile
  4. Select " How To Use" link and you will have access to videos of how to use TRIP.

How to install UptoDate

Mobile access via the app requires creation of an UpToDate account. Follow the instructions below to create your account, install the app, and maintain remote access to UpToDate.

Step by Step: 

  1. Visit UpToDate Anywhere
  2. Authenticate into the Medical EAZY proxy server using your CCNY email/ CITYmail email /Med email account name and your ‚Äč CCNY email/ CITYmail email /Med email account password.
  3.  Create an account using the Register button in the upper right of the page. Choose a username and a password specific for UptoDate. 
  4. Return to UpToDate Anywhere.  
  5. Follow instruction of how to install the UpToDate Mobile app on your mobile device using the App Store (iPhone/iPad), Amazon Store (Android) or Windows Store (Windows 8).
  6. Download and install the UpToDate app to your mobile device.
  7. Log into the app using the credentials you choose when setting up your personal account.

Note: that no more than two mobile devices are allowed to share one UpToDate account. You will need to log out from one of the devices to access UpToDate on the other device.  

Every 90 days UpToDate will email you either on your mobile device or standalone computer that you need to verify your affiliation with CCNY. Don't Panic. You do not need to be on campus. To verify your identity, simply log in to your UptoDate Anywhere account. 

How to install VisualDx

  1. Go to VisualDX via your off campus proxy 
  2.  Click on the "Get the Mobile App" Icon (looks like a mobile phone circle image with a white background). This will open a registration page
  3. Register for a personal VisualDx account (username and password) 
  4. On your mobile device, download the VisualDx App and log in with your username and password. You must have an Internet connection to do this.